IMMEDIATE PRESS RELEASE: "Unethical and Irresponsible Reporting of our Colleagues- Cynthia Gabriel and Jerald Joseph


Unethical and Irresponsible Reporting of our Colleagues- Cynthia Gabriel and Jerald Joseph

We find FMT’s report on Cynthia Gabriel and Jerald Joseph really shameful and irresponsible. The original  FMT report does not name them. But now, another account, evidently based on the report, has named them and is making baseless accusations. It looks like some people are out to get the couple and even depict NGOs as irresponsible.

Both Cynthia and Jerald were exposed to the virus. They told their colleagues, friends and family right from the beginning. They rightly reported to the authorities and were quarantined; and now they have fully recovered and have been discharged.

They hid nothing and were under no obligation to hold a press conference.

The anonymous NGO leader quoted by FMT violated both Cynthia and Jerald's right to privacy.  FMT failed to meet basic ethical journalistic standards by not immediately contacting the persons being reported for an accurate account and respecting their right to reply.  

We urge FMT editor Abdar Rahman Koya and journalist Faiz Zainudin to retract the report and apologize to Cynthia and Jerald for the distress caused.

Signed and Endorsed by CSO leaders

1. Adrian Pereira, North South Initiative
2. Andrew Aeria, CIVICA Research
3. Andrew Khoo
4. Asha Singh, Health Equity Initiatives
5. Azrul Mohd Khalib, Galen Centre for Health & Social Policy
6. Badlishah Sham Baharin, Pertubuhan IKRAM Malaysia
7. Benjamin Thompson, MyPJ
8. Bina Ramanand FSSG
9. Chong Yee Shan
10. Cletus de Rozario, Community Action Network
11. Dorathy Benjamin, EMPOWER Malaysia
12. Dr. Sharuna Verghis,  Health Equity Initiatives
13. Eugene Yapp, GBM Coalition
14. Fadiah Nadwa Fikri, Center to Combat Corruption and Cronyism
15. Faribel Maglin, Pusat KOMAS
16. Glorene A Das, TENAGANITA
17. Henry Koh, Beyond Borders Malaysia
18. Ho Yock Lin
19. Isaac Stephen Anthonysamy, Community Action Network
20. Ivy Josiah
21. Jeffrey FK Phang, MyPJ
22. Kevin De Rozario, Community Action Network
23. Mahi Ramakrishnan, Beyond Borders Malaysia
24. Meera Samanther, Women’s Aid Organisation
25. Michael Jok, SCRIPS
26. Muhammad SHA'ANI bin Abdullah
27. Nathaniel Tan, POWR
28. Ng Geok Chee KLSCAH Women Division
29. Nisha Sabanayagam, AWAM
30. Noor Farida Ariffin, G25
31. PH Wong, Childline
32. Rizal Rozhan
33. Robyn Choi
34. Sabrina Melissa Aripen, SERATA
35. Sevan Doraisamy, SUARAM
36. Sha Kok Tein
37. Shanthi Dairiam, Women's Aid Organisation
38. Sudhagaran Stanley, C4 Center
39. Terence Gomez, Center to Combat Corruption and Cronyism
40. Thomas Fann, Bersih 2.0
41. Thomas Jalong, Jaringan Orang Asal SeMalaysia
42. Tijah Yok Chopil, Jaringan Kampung Orang Asli Semenanjung Malaysia
43. Wan Shakila, Borneo Komrad
44. Winnie Yee, Sabah Women's Action Group
45. Wong Chin Huat, ENGAGE
46. Yu Ren Chung, Women’s Aid Organisation
47. Zaharom Nain, GERAK
48. Lim Chee Han, Agora Society